Free E-Visa to Saint Petersburg for 53 Countries

October 01, 2019

Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev confirmed the list of countries whose citizens will be able to visit Sain Petersburg Petersburg with a free electronic visa from 1 October 2019. 

Citizens of 53 countries will be able to visit the region. It is the same 53 for which a similar scheme was introduced on 1 July 2019 for Russia’s Far East and Kaliningrad Oblast.

All EU countries except the United Kingdom are included on the list.

Russian President Vladimir Putin had already signed a decree in July to allow travel to Saint Petersburg and Leningrad Oblast with an electronic visa from 1 October but had not specified which countries would be given access.

An application for an electronic visa must be submitted on the website of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs not later than four days before travel. The visa is valid for up to 30 calendar days, but it can only be used to stay for up to eight days in Russia.

There is no charge for an electronic visa.